Second Scottish cyber awards announced with global sponsors confirmed

Award winners from 2016.

A booming cyber security industry will once again vie for honours, as the Scottish Cyber Awards return after last year’s hugely successful inaugural event.

Hosted by the Scottish Business Resilience Centre (SBRC), the awards will shine a light on innovative work and thinking across Scotland, focusing on the positive aspects of what is becoming a critical industry for Scotland’s economic development. A wide range of awards will recognise businesses, academics and individuals committed to enhancing Scotland’s world-leading reputation in the fight against cyber-crime.

The growing threat of cyber attack has dominated the news agenda since the first awards last November, with the WannaCry ransomware and the extent of the hacks during the US Presidential race still being investigated.

Mandy Haeburn-Little, Chief Executive of the SBRC, said: “Cyber crime is a reality of modern life – with organisations of all sizes susceptible to criminal hackers. There is however incredible work happening on our doorstep and that deserves to be celebrated. Scotland could not achieve what it has without a deep talent pool and it is right that these awards will also celebrate the best of all business sizes and the world of academia.”

The event has attracted big name backing, with lead supporter PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC) joined by key partners Zonefox and Symantec. The event is also moving to a larger venue, and will take place at Edinburgh’s Sheraton Hotel on 22 November.

The award categories include: Best Cyber Start-Up, Best New Cyber Talent, Cyber SME Defender of the Year, International Contribution to Cyber Security, Outstanding Woman in Cyber, Cyber Resilient Community Impact Awards, Leading Light Innovation Award, Cyber Evangelist of the Year, Cyber Security Teacher of the Year and Collaboration with Police Scotland.

Four new categories have been introduced this year; Leading Diversity in Cyber, Outstanding Cyber Team, Best Cyber Education Programme and Best Cyber Breakthrough. Nominations open tomorrow, 20 July and close on 8 September.